Agatha Chitumu, Abuja

The Honourable Minister of Power, Engr. Abubakar Aliyu Friday inaugurated the board members of the Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) at the Main Auditorium, Power House, Maitama, Abuja.

A press release by Dibiaezue-Eke, Florence O. (Mrs.), Director, Information gave the indication.

Speaking at the ceremony, the Minister stated that the board member were selected based on their competence, expertise and wealth of experience.

He said, “They are suitably qualified and worthy of our nation’s Power Sector value – Chain”.

He then urged the board member to execute their assignment with all seriousness it deserves bringing their wealth of experience to bear on decisions at the board meeting.

“You have a key responsibility in overseeing the strategic direction of TCN within the context of the policies of the Federal Government of Nigeria”. He said.

Also speaking, the Chairman, Senate Committee on Power, Senator Gabriel Suswan, advised the Board members to work in synergy with the Ministry of Power, assuring that it will help to tackle challenges being experience in the Power Supply.

Responding, the Chairman thanked the President and general public, promising to live up to expectation.

In the same vein, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Power, Nebeolisa Anako, represented by Tayo Adewumi urged the Board members to increase the transmission wheeling capacity in Nigeria in line with the cardinal agenda of the president.

He said, “The Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) is occupying a very important place in the Power sector as its performs not only as Transmission System Provider but also Independent System Operators.

“To successfully execute these task, the role of a functional Board cannot be over emphasized.”

The member of the governing board are Mr. Bukar Bulama Buni – Chairman, Engr. Sule Abdulazeez – Managing Director, TCN, Appolonia Okigbo – Member (South-East), Ahmad Talba Imamuddeen – Member (North-East), Clement Omeizabaiye – Member (North-Central), Muhammad A.Wazaram – Member (North-East), Abdul Karim Babatunde Disu – Member (South-West), Osagie Ediale – Member (South-South), Gazalli M. Tukur – Member (North-West), Nsima Udo Ekere – Member (South-South), Ali Haruna – Member (North-West), Engr. Nosike E. N. – Member representing Federal Ministry of Power, Hajia Aisha Omar, representative of Federal Ministry of Finance, Alex Okoh – Member representing Bureau of Public Enterprise.