‘Seun Ibukun-Oni, Abuja


Daily Courier – The national chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Abdullahi Adamu has given the newly inaugurated national campaign council a marching order to deliver Osun governorship election.

The 86-member national campaign council is co-chaired by Lagos state governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and his Kano state counterpart Abdullahi Ganduje.

Having crossed the hurdle of who flies the party’s flag in the forthcoming presidential election in 2023, Senator Adamu urged the council on to victory in Osun state to booster the chance of APC going forward.

“We have Chief Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as our presidential candidate you all know that. Whatever it takes within the laws of the land, I said go for it, win the election.

“Let them go complain let them go wherever, let’s win the election, we have no apologies whatsoever for this posture because these two elections are forbear to the national election coming up in 2003.

” It will go in our credentials that we have the winning track record in this National Working Committee that you elected we have a commitment” Adamu said.

The chairman reiterated that the same wide margin recorded by the party in Ekiti governorship election a week ago, is what he expects from the council going into Osun governorship election.

” I urge you to leave no stone unturned. I urge you to go there and do whatever is doable within the laws of Nigeria and our electoral laws to win.

“My tolerance level and this national working committee level for failure is really really zero.

Nobody should come back to us crying, failure is not our own by the grace of God.

“We are winning the battle of the states, but the real war to be won is the presidential election in 2023” he concluded.

The co-chair of the campaign council, Gov Abdullahi Ganduje while responding on behalf national campaign council appreciated the national working committee for appointing them for the great assignment promising to leave no stone unturned to guarantee victory come July 16.

Ganduje hinted that reconciliatory efforts are ongoing to ensure that all stakeholders in Osun state APC go to the polls with a united front.

“Your excellency, we are assuring you Mr chairman of victory from this committee. Some of us have already started working behind the scenes. One important task is reconciliation due to the internal dynamics of the party.

“Reconciliation is the key to success so that they believe in each other, they agree and all the stakeholders are on the same page to constitute one single force to win this election. I’m happy the secretary of our great party is from Osun state and I think is very very useful to this election in Osun state. Your excellency, some of us who participated in last election that brought the current governor into office we knew the interplay of variables that took place and that led us to a new terminology which is inconclusive election but I’m assuring your excellency that this election will be conclusively conclusive.

“We are going to work with all the stakeholders to ensure that all the 30 local governments in Osun state are fully prepared for this election. We will study the previous election, unit by unit and see how things went that time and which variable has changed between then and now and see how we can compete. This is necessary because it will determine our efforts and strategies. You have told us that the candidate of the opposition is a money bag but I want to assure you that we have strategy -bags.

We are seeking for the cooperation of all stakeholders, our governors and NWC and other stakeholders. This election is a task that must be done”

Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger state; Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti state; Abubakar Atiku of Kebbi state; Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa state; Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna state; Babagana Zulum of Borno; Yahaya Bello of Kogi state; Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe state; Aminu Masari of Katsina state; Abdulrahaman AbdulRazaq of Kwara; Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa: Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo state; Dapo Abiodun of Ogun state; Hope Uzodinma of Imo state; Simeon Lalong of Plateau; Mai Mala Buni of Yobe; Dave Umahi of Ebonyi; Ben Ayade of Cross River state; Mohammed Matawalle of Zamfara; Femi Gbajabiamila and the Senate President Ahmed Lawan were all named as co-vice chairmen in the 86-member council.

The other members of the national campaign council include: Senator Godswill Akpabio, Rotimi Amaechi, Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba, Otunba Niyi Adebayo, Senator Gbemisola Saraki, Raji Fashola SAN, Dr. Sunday Dare, Abubakar Aliyu, Air Marshal Sadique (Rtd), Air Wing Marshall Peterin (Rtd), Lt Gen. H. Buratai, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Abubakar Malami SAN, Senator Hadi Sirika, among others.