Our Correspondent


Daily Courier – Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp has been named Barclays Premier League manager of the season and won the Sir Alex Ferguson trophy for the LMA manager of the year.

Liverpool took the title race down to the wire, racking up 92 points and finishing runners-up to Premier League champions Manchester City by a single point, as they went closer to winning the Quadruple than any other English side in history.

Reflecting on the climax to the Premier League season while accepting his award, Klopp said: “It is a great honour and it was an insane season. The last matchday when only two games were meaningless and, in the rest, we all played for absolutely everything.

“It was a bit nervy, it wasn’t the best outcome for us, but we are already over it. And when you win a prize like this you are either a genius, or you have the best coaching staff in the world – I am here with four of my coaching staff, and they know how much I appreciate them.”

Sir Alex Ferguson presented Jurgen Klopp with the League Managers Association manager of the year award.

Klopp also collected the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy, which is voted for by the full membership of managers across all the divisions. As Sir Alex himself announced the winner, he said: “This is agony, it’s absolute agony…Jurgen Klopp.”

The Liverpool manager added: “This being voted for by my colleagues is obviously most important prize you can get.

“I don’t believe in individual prizes in football generally, it is a team sport and I would be nothing without these boys there. It is all about what we can do together and what we did together.”


Klopp’s men can still clinch a cup treble if they beat Real Madrid in Paris on Saturday and add the Champions League to this season’s FA Cup and League Cup successes.


Your @BarclaysFooty Manager of the Season…


🔴👏 Jurgen Klopp 👏🔴#PLAwards | @LFC pic.twitter.com/EKpk5kf3A9


— Premier League (@premierleague) May 24, 2022

Congratulations to @LFC Manager Jürgen Klopp for winning Premier League Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays #LMAAnnualAwards pic.twitter.com/dvAd8LHZdZ


— LMA (@LMA_Managers) May 24, 2022

Liverpool Women’s boss Matt Beard made it a double for the Reds as he collected the FA Women’s Championship Manager of the Year after winning the league. Title-winning Chelsea manager Emma Hayes scooped the Barclays FA Women’s Super League manager of the year award.


Congratulations to @ManUtd’s Kath Phipps for winning the LMA Service to Football Award #LMAAnnualAwards pic.twitter.com/mT7ih1NI4m


— LMA (@LMA_Managers) May 24, 2022

Congratulations to HCA Healthcare UK’s Dr Sally Harris for winning the LMA Special Recognition Award #LMAAnnualAwards pic.twitter.com/xE365zFJpg


— LMA (@LMA_Managers) May 24, 2022

Fulham manager Marco Silva was named Sky Bet Championship manager of the year. Wigan’s Leam Richardson Leam Richardson picked up the League One manager of the year, while Exeter City manager Matt Taylor won the League Two award.

Meanwhile, QPR duo Chris Ramsey and Manisha Tailor beat off competition from England manager Gareth Southgate and Liverpool boss Klopp to be named joint winners of the Kick It Out and Sky Inclusion Champion Award.