‘Seun Ibukun-Oni, Abuja


Daily Courier – Kano Deputy Governor Dr. Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary.

He defeated Hon. Sha’aban Ibrahim Sharada to emerge winner of the contest held in the late hours of Thursday at the Sani Abacha Sports Complex, Kofar Mata, Kano.

The election was supervised by representatives of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the Police and Department of State Security.

Chairman of the gubernatorial primary election committee Senator Tijjani Yahaya Kaura said Gawuna polled 2,289 votes while his opponent scored only 30 votes.

A breakdown of the election result shows that the total number of delegates for the exercise were 2,420.

Those accredited for exercise still 2,420, total votes cast 2,339 while invalid votes were 20.

“I Sen. Tijjani Yahaya Kaura, Chairman of Kano APC Governorship Primary Election Committee, on behalf of the National working committee of our party hereby announced that the result of this election has been collated and counted accordingly.

“I hereby certified that Dr. Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna, having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared winner.

“He is therefore the standard flag bearer of the APC in the gubernatorial election that will take place in 2023 in Kano State,” he said.

Gawuna thanked God for the victory and appreciated the support of Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, the party leaders and delegates.

He appealed to all party members to join hands and work hard towards the success and victory of the APC during the general election, commending them for conducting themselves in an orderly and peaceful manner during the primary election.

Governor Ganduje commended the election committee for a “thorough and transparent exercise.”