‘Seun Ibukun-Oni


Biodun Oyebanji has been sworn in as the fifth democratically elected Governor of Ekiti State.


Oyebanji was sworn with his Deputy Chief Monisade Afuye, at the sprawling Ekiti Parapo Pavillon, Ado-Ekiti, the state capital.


The ceremony was performed by Ekiti Chief Judge, Justice Oyewole Adeyeye.


Oyebanji took the oath of office and allegiance before the Chief Judge at 12: 52pm before the mammoth crowd at the venue of the event.


He also signed the required documents empowering him as the seventh Governor of Ekiti State.


Afuye took the oath of office and allegiance earlier at 12:42 pm before the Chief Judge and thereafter signed the necessary documents empowering her as the second citizen of the State.


The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Bola Tinubu, Lagos, Ondo, Plateau, governors were all in attendance, former Ekiti governor, Ayo Fayose and other dignitaries attended the event.


Oyebanji is the fifth democratically elected governor of Ekiti State since its creation in 1996 by the late dictator, Sani Abacha.