Paul Akomolehin


DAILY COURIER – The candidate of the All Progressive Congress, Umar Mohammed Bago, has won the governorship election in Niger State.

Announcing the result in Minna on Monday, the state collation officer, Professor Clement Allawa, said Bago won in 20 of the 25 Local Government Areas and polled a total of 469,896 to defeat his closest rival Isah Liman Kantigi, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party who won in 5 local government areas with 387, 476 votes.

“I, Professor Clement Allawa, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2023 governorship election that was contested on March 18, 2023.”

“I declare that Umar Mohammed Bago of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner of the 2023 governorship election in Niger State.”