‘Seun Ibukun-Oni, Abuja


Daily Courier – The national youth leader, Hon Dayo Israel today inaugurated the taskforce to revalidate all youth and student support groups with a mandate to deliver for the party in the coming general election.

Israel gave the charge to the taskforce made up of prominent youths of the APC at the event which held at the APC national headquarters today Friday June 29, 2022.

“This taskforce has been mandated to coordinate the registration and revalidation exercise of all youth/student focused and youth led support groups into a recognizable structure strongly aligned with the objectives and strategic imperatives of the National Working Committee, under the distinguished leadership of H.E. Senator Adamu Abdullahi” he said.

According to Israel, the revalidation of the affiliated youth and student support groups will be opened for a period of one month starting from Friday, July 1, through July 31, would also enable effective coordination, disciplined harmonization of activities in alignment with the party’s goals, aid provision and accountability, as well as efficient management and enhanced operations.

To streamline the submission process and enable easy access, sorting, and verification, interested

groups would be able to register digitally and submit all relevant documents and information required for the revalidation exercise from the comfort of their homes at: www.youngprogessives.ng/supportgroups.

The youth leader maintained that this way, groups across the country can participate in the process virtually, thus avoiding the additional burden or cost of facilitating the logistics of physical movement of personnel and sensitive data.

The taskforce has the former Kwara state commissioner for information and former president of the Pan African Youth Council, Mr. Ben Duntoye and deputy national youth leader of the APC, Hon Jamaldeen Kabir as co-chairs.

In his acceptance speech, the chairman of the taskforce, Mr. Ben Duntoye submits that no politician who is serious about winning election will neglect the youths. “Elections are won by the youths. On the day of election, who are the staff, police, military and more than 65 percent of those that come out to vote on election day are the young people. Hence, for the biggest and largest political party in Africa, it will not be out of place to go and mobilize the youth in readiness for the election.

On behalf of our amiable leader, we want to thank you for the initiative to revalidate and register all important youth and student support groups in our great party. We want to assure you sir that we are going to do a great job. We are not going to disappoint you, we are not going to disappoint the NWC because the strength of this party is in your office and I can assure you that his excellency Senator Abdullahi Adamu will be proud of you” he concluded.

The deputy national youth leader of the APC, Hon Jamaldeen Kabir in his closing remarks thanked

the youth leader for setting up the taskforce as well as massive support of millions of youths across the country has given the party.

He promised that the taskforce will rally youths to repeat the 2015 and 2019 victories, “beginning with the presidential flagbearer, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu, all 36 state governorship candidates both returning and new; all 109 senatorial candidates; house of representatives candidates and state houses of assembly candidates and ensure that we win overwhelmingly” he said.

Other members of the taskforce include: Ms. Rinsola Abiola (Former Member of the APC BOT), Hon Imaar Sulaiman-Ibrahim (Federal Commissioner/CEO, National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons), H.E Ambassador Ginika Tor (Federal Commissioner, Federal Character Commission), Zubair Aliyu (North Central Zonal Youth Leader), Jason Baba Kwaghe (North East Zonal Youth Leader), Abdulhamid Umar Mohd (North West Zonal Youth Leader); Comr. Ebimobowei Oyas (South South Zonal Youth Leader), Hon. Ikenna Anyalewechi (South East Zonal Youth Leader), and Hon Lawal Kolade Paff (South West Zonal Youth Leader).

And Hon. Sesan Daini (Chairman Igbogbo Baiyeku Local Government), Kelechi Ekugo (Chief of Staff to the Minister of State, Mines and Steel), Ogban Isetu Ogban (SSA to the Governor of Cross River State), Aminu Shehu Uba (Special Assistant to Senator Orji Uzor Kalu)-Irinoye Olabisi Omolayo (Senior Legislative Aide to the Deputy Senate President), Mohammed Salisu Buhari (Agriwatts Nigeria Limited), Abisoye Fagbade (CEO Sodium Group), Mohammed Saidu Etsu, Khadijat Kareem, Michael Amosun, Esther Eddy and Ms. Amaka Lawrence.

Some of the criteria for the revalidation exercise of all affiliated youth support groups on the registration portal are:

• National Office Address for National Organizations, and Zonal/State address for zonal/state organizations.

• List of National, Zonal and State Executive.

• List of registered members of the groups, alongside contact details such as phone numbers and email addresses.

• Constitution and bye-laws of the organization or group.

• Party membership cards and voters cards (PVC) of members of the leadership/excos.

• Attestation from two (2) guarantors who must be reputable leaders of the party, at state, zonal or national level.

• Recommendation from the youth leadership of the party in primary states of operations.